One of the worst things you can do as the creator of a blog is to post the dreaded, “Hey, sorry I haven’t posted anything lately,” and spend more time writing about your procrastination instead of generating fresh and interesting content. I swore I wouldn’t be that guy. And I’m trying hard not to be. Trying. So. Hard.

When I started this blog a few months ago, I did it for fun. I enjoy trying new beers, and it’s fun to seek out new bars and breweries in our region. We are so spoiled, when you think about it. Rochester has a fantastic beer culture, especially considering we just welcomed our city’s seventh new brewery this past summer. It also doesn’t hurt that the New York State Brewers Association is headquartered here, too. Yup, it’s a great time to be a beer enthusiast in the Flower City!

It’s been about a month since I made a post, though I keep the Facebook page updated with new content as often as I can. Facebook is easy to update, click a photo, share a thought, tap “publish” and you’re done. Most of the time, I’m sharing the view from whatever barstool I happen to be occupying at the moment. If you’ve followed the page for any amount of time, you can probably guess what some of my favorite haunts are.

 

cheers-beer

You’ll notice I don’t get very deep with my analysis on the Facebook page. Instead, I’m trying to portray the local beer scene, share my travels, and give an insight to the great variety of brews available. From time to time, I’ll share relevant news stories from other sites that pertain to the craft beer industry or our local scene specifically. I refrain from sharing what I consider to be “industry gossip” or anything I might consider to be a distraction.

I’ve also taken great pains to avoid using jargon or terms I don’t fully understand when writing my posts. I’m not an expect. I’m here to learn, and I want to share whatever I learn with you. The world of craft beer and brewing is very exciting, but can also be very intimidating for the newcomer. Beer is supposed to be fun!  What’s not fun is feeling like an outsider when you’re trying to enjoy yourself. If you are more experienced and consider yourself a veteran beer aficionado, I hope I’m offering some fresh perspective.

beer-taps

Did you notice all these generic-looking beer images? This is what you get when you do an internet search for “craft beer.” Pretty exciting, right? I want to avoid becoming trite cliche and sounding like another throwaway blogger who throws around buzzwords and catchphrases in an attempt to sound relevant and topical. I’m also trying not to be a lazy blogger and put up softball reviews of beers and breweries. In the best scenario, I hope that my blog posts entertain and inform and I don’t sound like a complete idiot. I will take two out of three every time.

I keep a low profile, mostly because I’m shy, but also I like to experience things with fresh eyes. I usually avoid introducing myself as a blogger because I don’t want to taint the experience. One time it couldn’t be helped, as my friend and I were the only people in the bar when I made a tagged post to my Facebook page, the bartender looked at her phone and asked, “Okay, which one of you is the Rochester Beer Blog?” I don’t get (and I don’t want) special treatment. I just want to enjoy a beer.

I started this post explaining I started this blog as a way to share what I’ve learned about our local craft beer scene. I’ll wrap up by saying I’m still learning, and still trying to strike the right balance between serious research and lighthearted reviewer. Thanks for sticking with me, let’s see how far we can take this…

