I made a quick visit to Five Sons Winery & RG Brewery in Brockport on Sunday. The location is a bit off the beaten path, and doesn’t show up in Google map search yet. Just punch in “1360 West Sweden Rd Brockport, NY 14420” and you’ll find it. I arrived a little after lunch, so it was a little quiet with a few folks on the deck enjoying some wine and warm weather. I headed inside to the bright and spacious tasting room and asked for a flight of four. The four samples are served separately, which was a little unusual for me. I found out from the friendly bartender the brewery will celebrate its first anniversary this May.

rgbrewery-orangecreamale

First up I tried the Orange Cream Ale, which was bright and refreshing and clocks in at only 4.8%. I enjoyed the subtle flavor of not-so-traditional cream ale brewed with orange peel. This interesting take on the cream ale would be an excellent backyard brew for the warm weather season. Next, I sampled the Coconut Oatmeal Stout, which was a solid taster with rich flavors clocking in at 6%. Very subtle hints of coconut throughout. The interestingly named Menage-a-Trois IPA is brewed with berries that compliment the citra hops (which account for the citrus flavors, I’m told). My bartender wasn’t sure I’d like it, but I found it to be a tasty experiment.

I saved the best for last: Pineapple Upside-Down Cake. I can’t say anything more about this other than it tastes exactly like its name. I thought it was fantastic, and at 7%, definitely an after-dinner beverage to be sipped and enjoyed. It was not overly sweet or syrupy, but definitely included notes of sweet pineapple and something that reminded me of vanilla cake. Heck, I even took home a grumbler of it to share with friends later (are you my friend?).

rgbrewery-tastingroom

RG Brewery is most definitely a family affair, and when you visit, you feel like you’re being welcomed into someone’s home to sample their latest project. With warmer weather coming to our area, this would be a great place to hang out with a couple of friends to sample beer and wine as you please.

Check out Five Sons Winery & RG Brewery on Facebook orĀ  visit their web site at http://fivesonsvineyard.com/rg-brewery.php

